Cancer Journalism Award

Other Languages:



Serious issues demand serious journalism

Winners of 2019/2020 Cancer Journalism Award announced

The Cancer Journalism Award encourages, celebrates and rewards journalists who deliver insights into the personal and social impact of the disease, and efforts to change policy, practice or advocacy.

Journalists can submit one or more items of their work – whether in print, online, on radio, video or television – into the following categories

  • Research, science and treatment
  • Patient and carer experience
  • Policy, services and affordability
  • Prevention

In all categories, we are looking for articles/programmes that move beyond documenting experience, science, policy and practice. We want to find work that challenges, addresses urgent questions, increases awareness and prompts change. We are particularly looking for serious investigative journalism.

A prize of €1500 is available for the winner in each category. The journalist judged the overall winner will receive an additional €500 bringing their prize total to €2000.
Entries for this year’s Award are now closed.

Details on the deadline for the next edition of the Award will be announced later this year.

Winners of 2019/2020 Cancer Journalism Award

Past winners